Skip to main content

Workflows configuration

Only Admin users can configure Workflows, and only in Dataedo Portal.

For your convenience, Dataedo offers a default Workflow, but you can set up additional, custom Workflows for all manual objects (terms, domains, data products, and lookups) based on your organization's needs. You can manage and edit existing Workflows from Settings > Catalog Settings by choosing the Workflows tab.

Workflows tab in Catalog Settings

Default configuration​

The default Workflow consists of seven predefined statuses with default settings determining who is allowed to set a certain status, view objects with a given status, and so on.

All of these parameters are customizable and can be adjusted according to your organization's needs.

The statuses are displayed in an order that you can change by dragging and dropping a selected status. Their order should mimic your organization's desired Workflow.

Default workflow statuses and their configurable parameters

Default statuses​

The seven predefined statuses and their purposes are:

  • Idea — status meant for objects that are not yet established. It is the first, conceptual stage of your Workflow. Once the work on operationalizing this object starts, you can move it to the next status.
  • In definition — status denoting "work in progress". It is meant for objects that are being worked on, before the results can be presented for authorization.
  • For review — status for objects awaiting review and approval from the relevant Assignee. After review, an object should be set to either Ready to publish, Rejected, or sent back to In definition, depending on the outcome.
  • Ready to publish — status for approved objects that are yet to be released. Helpful if your Workflow involves scheduling or batch releases of objects.
  • Published — status for objects that have been published. By default, this is the only status that makes objects visible to Viewers.
  • Rejected — status for objects that the reviewers have not accepted and deemed non-compliant.
  • Obsolete — status for objects that are no longer in use or relevant. Applying this status to your object will make it invisible to Viewers, but the object will remain in your system for archival purposes.

Workflow configuration and managing parameters​

You can freely add new Workflows or edit existing ones. To add a new Workflow, use the Add workflow [A] button. To edit an existing one, click the edit icon [B] next to its name.

Add workflow button and edit icon for managing workflows

Each Workflow consists of a set of statuses. You can freely add or remove them to mirror your organization's work process. When you add a status with Add status [A] or edit one with the edit icon [B], a configuration menu will appear. Each status, be it default or custom-defined, has seven parameters to edit. Their roles are explored in more detail below.

Status configuration menu showing the seven editable parameters

Name & description​

These two parameters are purely descriptive and help you establish clear roles for each status within your Workflow. Name should be a unique identifier of the status, and Description should contain its purpose.

Visible for non-editors​

This parameter defines whether an object in a given status is visible to users without Edit permissions. A practical implementation of this parameter involves drafting — objects that are still a work in progress will not be visible to Viewers until they are finished and moved to a status with Visible for non-editors enabled.

caution

Usually, each object's visibility is based on its own Workflow status. There is, however, an exception for Domains. If a Domain's status indicates it is not visible to Viewers, all its nested areas will be hidden as well.

Who can set this status?​

This parameter lets you restrict the ability to set a certain status to a select group of users. You can define restrictions by role, user group, or a Custom Field of the User type, which you can assign to a selected person. For example, you can allow only certain authorized persons to publish Terms.

Multiple rules can be defined. Users who match at least one of these rules will all be able to set this specific status.

Defining rules for who can set a status by role, user group, or custom field

Users who do not match these rules will not be able to set a given status. They will see the status name grayed out, with a tooltip indicating a lack of permissions.

Grayed-out status with a tooltip indicating a lack of permissions

Assignee​

An Assignee is a user (or a group of users) responsible for moving the object's status further. The Assignee of a status does not necessarily have to be the user setting the status. Users marked as assignees will also see objects in a given status assigned to them in the Steward Hub. They will be notified about an object they should take care of (perform an action and move it to the correct status).

Assigning users responsible for moving an object's status further

Note that in our default configuration, some statuses have Unassigned in the Assignee column. This means that no further action is required after the object is Published or Rejected.

CTA text in Steward Hub​

This parameter defines the text visible in the navigation tree of the Steward Hub. Ideally, it describes the action that should be taken with an object in a given status. For example, when an object is in the Ready to publish status, our default CTA says Approve, and for objects in For review, the action is Review.

CTA text shown next to statuses in the Steward Hub navigation tree

Color​

This parameter affects the color of a dot displayed next to a given status in the Steward Hub. We recommend that the colors follow a color legend denoting the "position" of a given status within the Workflow.

Adding and removing statuses​

You can add new statuses to your existing Workflows at any time. To do so, use the Add status [A] button. This will open a status configuration menu. By default, new statuses are added at the end of the status list.

You can also remove statuses using the trash can icon [B].

Add status button and trash can icon for removing a status

Some objects may still be in a status that is about to be deleted from your Workflow. To prevent any errors, you will be asked to select a new status for those objects.

Prompt to select a new status for objects in the status being deleted

Workflows per object type​

You might want to have separate Workflows defined for different object types. You can do that in the Workflow for object types section of Workflows settings.

Workflow for object types section listing each object type

When you hover over an object type, an edit icon will appear. Click it to change the Workflow assigned to that object.

Edit icon appearing when hovering over an object type

You will see a drop-down list where you can select from the Workflows configured in your repository. The change is saved automatically.

Drop-down list for selecting a workflow to assign to an object type

Before the change can be applied, you will have to map old statuses to those in your new Workflow. Dataedo will convert all objects of that type to the new statuses automatically.

Mapping old statuses to those in the newly assigned workflow

Approver role​

Dataedo offers the Approver role. This role lets larger organizations enable two-step approvals based on the user role. For example, you could configure a Workflow so that only users with the Approver role are allowed to publish objects, making them visible to all Viewers in the application.

Dataedo is an end-to-end data governance solution for mid-sized organizations.
Data Lineage • Data Quality • Data Catalog